How do I add or remove Privileged users to protect configuration settings in ESET Cybersecurity for Mac? (4.x)

KB Solution ID: SOLN2558|Last Revised: February 11, 2014

Issue

Upgrade to ESET Cyber Security

A newer version of ESET Cyber Security for Mac has been released. We highly recommend that you upgrade to the latest version. Upgrade for free with a valid product license:

 

Solution

Privileged users in ESET Cybersecurity for Mac are users with permission to modify the program’s settings. The Privileged users setting keeps unauthorized users from changing the configuration  and maintains maximum protection, in accordance with your settings. You can set Privileged users during installation or add them later in the program settings. To add Privileged users to ESET Cybersecurity, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the main program window by clicking the ESET icon on the menu bar and selecting Open ESET Cybersecurity or by clicking Finder  Applications ESET Cybersecurity.
     
  2. Click the icon in the lower-left corner of the main program window to Activate advanced mode. Click Setup from the main menu and then click Enter application preferences....

Figure 1-1
Click the image to view larger in new window

 

  1. Click User Privileges and then select the users you would like to add/remove from the Users or Privileged Users lists. Click Add to add them to the Privileged Users list on the right or Remove to remove them. Click OK to return to the main program window.
  2. Figure 1-1, the users-privileges screen, showing the lists of users on the left and the privileged users on the right

    Figure 1-2

     
Rate this article:
1 2 3 4 5
Please comment on your rating...
We cannot respond to feedback from this form. Requests for assistance should be submitted through your normal support channel.
5 - Definitely
4 - Mostly
3 - Somewhat
2 - Not Really
1 - Not At All